Commissioner of Higher Education

Commissioner's Office

2500 Broadway
PO Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201

Main Number 406-444-6570
FAX Number 406-444-1469
TTY 711


2500 Broadway
P.O. Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201
FAX Number 406-444-1469
Regent Paul Tuss, Havre 406-444-6570
Regent Fran Albrecht, Missoula 406-444-6570
Regent William Johnstone, Great Falls 406-444-6570
Regent Martha Sheehy, Billings 406-444-6570
Regent Robert Nystuen, Kalispell 406-444-6570 
Regent Casey Lozar, Helena 406-444-6570
Student Regent, Levi Birky, Bozeman 406-444-6570


Commissioner of Higher Education, Clayton Christian 444-6570
Executive Assistant to the Commissioner and the Board of Regents, Amy Unsworth 444-0374
Administrative Assistant, Lindsey Trenary 444-0611

Academic and Student Affairs

Deputy Commissioner for Academic & Student Affairs, Dr John Cech 444-0316
Director of American Indian/Minority Achievement and K-12 Partnerships, Angela McLean 444-0332
Director of Student Affairs, Ron Muffick 444-0369
Academic Policy Specialist & Common Course Numbering Program Manager, Elizabeth Ternes 444-0311
Director of Two-Year Mission Integration, Sue Jones 444-0318
Perkins Program Manager, Jacque Treaster 444-0313
Compliance and Workforce Data Analyst, Erik Rose 444-0608
Dual Enrollment and Big Sky Pathways Program Manager, Amy Williams 994-3991
Administrative Associate, 444-0632

Administrative & Fiscal Affairs

Deputy Commissioner for Administration and Finance, Chuck Jensen 444-6570
Director of Fiscal Affairs, Frieda Houser 444-0320
Director of Work Comp and Risk Management, Leah Tietz 444-0615
Financial Manager, Sherrie Lindbo 444-0323
Student Assistance Manager and State Certifying Officer, Laurie Tobol 444-0322
Federal Accountant, Kelly Hert 444-0321
Payroll / Benefits Specialist, Debbie Bunker 444-0324
Accounting and Program Specialist, Lindsey Mueller 444-0604


FAX Number 444-0222
Director of Benefits, Connie Welsh 444-6570
Acting Director of Benefits, Mary Lachenbruch 444-0330
Regulatory and Compliance Officer, Susan Witte 444-0633
Associate Director of Retirement Benefits & Pension Plans, Amy Berry 444-0613
Registered Nurse Case Manager, Joan Fabricius 444-0306
Communication and Benefits Specialist, Kelley Shields 444-2574
Benefits Specialist, Chelsi Dupler 444-0331
Benefits Specialist, Jane Liedle 444-0329

Planning & Analysis / IT / Research

Deputy Commissioner for Planning & Analysis, Tyler Trevor 444-0307
IT Office Manager, Edwina Morrison 444-0326
Computer Support Specialist, Jared Smith 461-1192

Student Financial Services

Director, Student Affairs, Ron Muffick 444-0369
Outreach Coordinator, Carie Kelly 444-7368
Outreach Coordinator, Andrea Opitz 444-0681

Communications & Human Resources

Deputy Commissioner for Communications & Human Resources, Kevin McRae 444-0327
HR & Labor Relations Specialist, Ruth Anne Hansen 444-0610
HR & Labor Relations Specialist, Jackie Salveson 444-0315

Legal Division

Chief Legal Counsel / Deputy Commissioner, Vivian Hammill 444-0325

Educational Talent Search

Director, Jeannie Origbo 444-0334
Assistant Program Services & Data Manager, Aspen Herndon 444-0335
Re-Entry Manager, Michael Leadercharge 444-5608
Pre-College Advisor/Program Coordinator - Great Falls Target Area, Dugan Coburn 268-6199
Pre-College Advisor/Program Coordinator - Great Falls Target Area, Marianne Frank 268-6199
Pre-College Advisor/Program Coordinator - Flathead Target Area, Casey Figueroa 275-4871
Pre-College Advisor/Program Coordinator - Flathead Target Area, 275-4871
Pre-College Advisor/Program Coordinator - Blackfeet Target Area, Joe Jessepe 338-2725
Pre-College Advisor/Program Coordinator - Crow Target Area, Carol Good Luck 639-2385

GEAR UP  (Gaining Early Awareness & Readiness for Undergraduate Programs)

FAX Number 444-0425
GEAR UP Director, Zach Hawkins 444-0317
Program Manager, Jessie Bliss 444-0674
Eastern Schools Grant Manager, Lucille Thomason 444-0598
Western School Grant Manager, Janelle Egli 444-0848
College Access Manager, Jamie Jones 444-0350
Program and Communications Coordinator, Marcus Strange 444-0056

Montana Guaranteed Student Loan Program (MGSLP)

2500 Broadway, PO Box 203101
Helena, MT 59620-3101
Main Number 444-6594
FAX Number 444-1869
TTY 800-253-4093 or 711
Customer Service 800-537-7508
Customer Service Email
Default Prevention 877-293-8946
Default Resolution 800-322-3086


Chief Financial Officer, Robin Graham 444-0360
Administrative Assistant, Amber Dullum 444-0353
Computer Systems Analyst, Mike Mazanec 444-2494
Computer Support Specialist, Jared Smith 461-1192

Scholarships & Grants

State Scholarship Coordinator, Sheila Newlun 444-0638
Scholarship & Grants Specialist, Sandy Matule 444-0605
Education Savings Analyst, Amy Berry 444-0613

Borrower Services

Borrower Services Manager, Cheryl Poelman-Allen 444-0390
Default Prevention Lead Worker, Richard Kincaid 444-0367
Borrower Services Specialist, Vicki Hewitt 444-0386
Borrower Services Specialist, Dianna Lee 444-0389
Borrower Services Specialist, Melanie Pankratz 444-0934
Borrower Services Specialist, Heather Hanser 444-0074
Borrower Services Specialist, Amber Toney 444-0343
Borrower Services Specialist, Jason Hyronemus 444-0362
Borrower Services Specialist, Lisa Coble 444-0394
Borrower Services Specialist, Jerika Enderes 444-0637
Borrower Services Specialist, Vanessa Sollars 444-0644
Borrower Services Specialist, Amanda Taylor 444-0392


Accounting Manager, Jamie Dushin 444-0381
Accounting Technician, Linda Cronholm 444-0363
Accounting Technician, Sandy Miller 444-0361
Claim Review, Marianne Meegan 444-7328
Compliance/Claims, Ted Broderick 444-1565